The Campus Sustainability Initiative's logo represent the three focus areas of outreach & engagement, teaching & research, and facilities & operations. It also represents social, environmental and economic sustainability. 

 Outreach & Engagement

This focus area is led by the Office of Sustainability, the hub of whole the Campus Sustainability Initiative. This focus area provides institutional leadership, campus-wide communications and programs to integrate sustainability values into all aspects of our institution. We engage and encourage students, staff and faculty to engage in sustainability practices. This work is guided by advice received from the Sustainability Advisory Committee.

 Teaching & Research

This focus area is lead by the Office of the Provost and supported by the Office of Sustainability. This focus area seeks to integrate sustainability into the courses we offer, the way we teach, and the research we engage in. They are guided by advice received from the Provost's Academic Advisory Council on Sustainability.

 Facilities & Operations

This focus area is lead by both the Energy Management and Sustainable Operations (EMSO) and the Office of Sustainability. Together they work to advance sustainability practices, policies and procedures across the institution. EMSO is advised by an internal Sustainability Committee. This focus area has three active working groups addressing waste diversion, sustainable food and sustainable purchasing.

What is sustainability?

The Provost's Academic Advisory Council for Sustainability developed the following working definition for sustainability at the University of Alberta.

Sustainability is the process of living within the limits of available physical, natural and social resources in ways that allow the living systems in which humans are embedded to thrive in perpetuity.

Did you know?

The Office of Sustainability has a dual reporting relationship to both the Vice-President (Facilities & Operations) and the Deputy Provost.