Earth Hour Campus Challenge

Earth Hour Campus Challenge

In 2016, 14 post-secondary institutions from across Alberta teamed up to take collective action against climate change by competing in the One Hour, No Power Campus Challenge. Each participating institution attempted to get the highest percentage of participants based on its population. Keyano College placed first in the challenge.

The University of Alberta also partnered with MacEwan University for its second annual Earth Hour Race on March 12, 2016, and teams at both universities participated in Flip the Switch and Lights Out Flash Mobs to encourage people to turn off lights in empty rooms.

The Darkest Tower Challenge encouraged Lister residents to collectively modify their daily behaviours in order to help their tower achieve the largest decrease in electricity consumption. Henday was the winning tower, and residents celebrated with a pizza party sponsored by Aramark. 

Why take part in Earth Hour?

Earth Hour is a global movement organized by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF). It is held annually in late March and asks households and businesses to turn off their non-essential lights and other electrical appliances for one hour.

Earth Hour is about more than just switching off lights for 60 minutes a year. It’s about focusing on the small actions that individuals can take to reduce their energy consumption and environmental footprint. Simple changes in lifestyle choices can make a big difference to your individual environmental impact. Earth Hour gives people the chance to talk about these lifestyle choices, and to work together to tackle the challenge of climate change.

Contact Us

Kayleigh Wiebe, Project Planner - Engagement

Participating institutions (2016)

Calgary Area

  • Mount Royal University
  • SAIT

Edmonton Area

  • King's University College
  • MacEwan University
  • NorQuest College
  • NAIT
  • University of Alberta

Regional Colleges

  • The Banff Centre
  • Burman University
  • Grande Prairie Regional College
  • Keyano College
  • Lakeland College
  • Medicine Hat College 
  • Olds College