Earth Hour Campus Challenge

Earth Hour Campus Challenge

In 2017, 11 post-secondary institutions from across Alberta teamed up to take collective action against climate change by competing in the Earth Hour Campus Challenge. Each participating institution attempted to get the highest percentage of participants based on its population. The King's University placed first in the challenge.

The University of Alberta also partnered with MacEwan University and NAIT for its third annual Earth Hour Race on March 25, 2017. This year, 28 teams (56 people) competed to see who could take home top prizes courtesy of Ernest’s, Pogo Carshare, MacEwan’s Sport and Wellness Centre and the University of Alberta’s Office of Sustainability. MacEwan University teams came in first and second, while a University of Alberta teams took third place.

The Darkest Tower Challenge encouraged Lister residents to collectively modify their daily behaviours in order to help their tower achieve the largest decrease in electricity consumption. Kelsey was the winning tower. 

Why take part in Earth Hour?

Earth Hour is a global movement organized by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF). It is held annually in late March and asks households and businesses to turn off their non-essential lights and other electrical appliances for one hour.

Earth Hour is about more than just switching off lights for 60 minutes a year. It’s about focusing on the small actions that individuals can take to reduce their energy consumption and environmental footprint. Simple changes in lifestyle choices can make a big difference to your individual environmental impact. Earth Hour gives people the chance to talk about these lifestyle choices, and to work together to tackle the challenge of climate change.

Contact Us

Kayleigh Wiebe, Project Planner - Engagement

Participating institutions (2017)

Calgary Area

  • Bow Valley College
  • Mount Royal University
  • SAIT

Edmonton Area

  • MacEwan University
  • NorQuest College
  • NAIT
  • The King's University
  • University of Alberta

Regional Colleges

  • Burman University
  • Northern Lakes College
  • Olds College